update doc

This commit is contained in:
fyears
2024-02-25 23:54:54 +08:00
parent 447e0c0aa4
commit 9fc46553e1
5 changed files with 37 additions and 9 deletions
+12 -6
View File
@@ -1,8 +1,10 @@
# Minimal Intrusive Design
Before version 0.3.0, the plugin did not upload additional meta data to the remote.
~~Before version 0.3.0, the plugin did not upload additional meta data to the remote.~~
From and after version 0.3.0, the plugin just upload minimal extra necessary meta data to the remote.
~~From version 0.3.0 ~ 0.3.40, the plugin just upload minimal extra necessary meta data to the remote.~~
From version 0.4.1 and above, the plugin doesn't need uploading meta data due to the sync algorithm upgrade.
## Benefits
@@ -12,10 +14,14 @@ For example, it's possbile for a uses to manually upload a file to s3, and next
And it's also possible to combine another "sync-to-s3" solution (like, another software) on desktops, and this plugin on mobile devices, together.
## Necessarity Of Uploading Extra Metadata
## ~~Necessarity Of Uploading Extra Metadata from 0.3.0 ~ 0.3.40~~
The main issue comes from deletions (and renamings which is actually interpreted as "deletion-then-creation").
~~The main issue comes from deletions (and renamings which is actually interpreted as "deletion-then-creation").~~
If we don't upload any extra info to the remote, there's usually no way for the second device to know what files / folders have been deleted on the first device.
~~If we don't upload any extra info to the remote, there's usually no way for the second device to know what files / folders have been deleted on the first device.~~
To overcome this issue, from and after version 0.3.0, the plugin uploads extra metadata files `_remotely-save-metadata-on-remote.{json,bin}` to users' configured cloud services. Those files contain some info about what has been deleted on the first device, so that the second device can read the list to apply the deletions to itself. Some other necessary meta info would also be written into the extra files.
~~To overcome this issue, from and after version 0.3.0, the plugin uploads extra metadata files `_remotely-save-metadata-on-remote.{json,bin}` to users' configured cloud services. Those files contain some info about what has been deleted on the first device, so that the second device can read the list to apply the deletions to itself. Some other necessary meta info would also be written into the extra files.~~
## No uploading extra metadata from 0.4.1
Some information, including previous successful sync status of each file, is kept locally.
+7
View File
@@ -0,0 +1,7 @@
# Sync Algorithm
* [v1](./v1/README.md)
* [v2](./v2/README.md)
* v3
* [intro doc for end users](./v3/intro.md)
* [design doc](./v3/design.md)
+4
View File
@@ -0,0 +1,4 @@
# Sync Algorithm V3
* [intro doc for end users](./intro.md)
* [design doc](./design.md)
+12
View File
@@ -0,0 +1,12 @@
# Introduction To Sync Algorithm V3
* [x] sync conflict: keep newer
* [x] sync conflict: keep larger
* [ ] sync conflict: keep both and rename
* [ ] sync conflict: show warning
* [x] deletion: true deletion status computation
* [x] meta data: no remote meta data any more
* [x] migration: old data auto transfer to new db (hopefully)
* [ ] partial sync: force push
* [ ] partial sync: force pull
* [ ] sync protection: warning based on the threshold